• Thomas Schorn

Many States Conform to the New IRS Filing Deadline

As noted in a recent post, the Treasury Department and Internal Revenue Service announced on March 17, 2021, that the federal income tax filing due date for individuals for the 2020 tax year will be extended automatically from April 15, 2021, to May 17, 2021.

At this time, the automatic extension applies to individual tax returns and does not apply to first-quarter estimated tax payments, gift, estate, corporation, or trust return filings, which are still due April 15, 2021.

As expected, many states will conform to the federal deadline. As of March 22, 2021, the following states have also pushed their deadlines to May 17:

  • Alabama

  • California

  • Colorado

  • Connecticut

  • Delaware

  • Georgia

  • Illinois

  • Kentucky

  • Maine

  • Massachusetts

  • Michigan

  • Montana

  • Nebraska

  • New Jersey

  • New Mexico

  • New York

  • North Carolina

  • North Dakota

  • Oregon

  • Pennsylvania

  • South Dakota

  • Tennessee

  • Utah

  • Virginia

  • Vermont

  • West Virginia

  • Wisconsin

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
    Advisory Services offered through Fiduciary Planning, LLC, an SEC Registered Investment Advisor. Privacy Policy.
    Check the background of this investment professional on FINRA’s BrokerCheck. Additional information about Fiduciary Planning, LLC and out advisors is also available online at www.adviserinfo.sec.gov or https://brokercheck.finra.org/.  You can view our firm's information on this website by searching for Fiduciary Planning, LLC or by our CRD number 304104.
    This site is for informational purpose only and does not constitute an offer to sell or a solicitation of an offer to buy any security which may be referenced herein. We suggest that you consult with your financial or tax advisor with regard to your individual situation.
    This site has been published in the United States for residents of the United States. Persons mentioned in this site may only transact business in states in which they have been properly registered or are exempt from registration.